advanced search

List Stories

Newest Stories
Highest Rated
Most Voted
The Longest
Recent Pop
Overall Pop
List by Title
List by Author

More ...

The Jade Pavilion Book II : The Rise of Li Chang Author: Boccaccio
(Added on Jun 2, 2002) (This month 72435 readers) (Total 476866 readers)
Slavery, bondage, torture and rape are the tactics of choice in this much expanded edition of an epic struggle for supremacy in the Shanghai underworld. The cruelty of the adversaries is surpassed only by the beauty of the Asian and European victims who become ensnared in their web of treachery, intrigue, and lust.

Ratings and Reviews:
Number of Ratings: 27
17 Votes
17 Votes
17 Votes
17 Votes
17 Votes
9 Votes 17 Votes
9 Votes 17 Votes
9 Votes 17 Votes
9 Votes 17 Votes
9 Votes 17 Votes
1 Vote 9 Votes 17 Votes
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 4% 33% 63%
Weighed Average (?): (9.5/10)
Average Rating: (10/10)
Highest Rating: (10/10)
Lowest Rating: (8/10)

Review this story: Rate It! and add review for this story
Only user can review stories


Seems you are not login.
Go to the forums to login!

then refresh/reload this page

Want to register? It's free!
Forgotten your password?


Reviewer: XenMon22 (Edit) Rating: Dec 15, 2016
The good:
The setting is fantastic and engaging, and the characters are well-developed, not just a bunch of faceless shmucks torturing each other. The author has a fantastic understanding of detail - he is not content with simply giving basic details, and the reader can practically see the beautiful women, the weapons of torture, and the locales. The writing is professional and publish-worthy. The author seems to have an almost limitless amount of creative, brutal tortures at his disposal, and almost none of the chapters feel like they're repeating material or staling. I'm not usually one to read stories this long, but the writing is so engaging that I can't help but read on.
The bad:
The plot, while engaging at first, is poorly-paced and goes off the rails relatively early and for most of the story feels like little more than an excuse to have a bunch of largely unrelated women tied up and tortured, to the point where (as of this writing) the eponymous Li Chang does not actually appear past Chapter 33 in a story that currently has 165 chapters. The chapters focusing on Erika in particular take up a huge chunk of the story despite being almost completely irrelevant and would perhaps be better served as a separate story or spin-off.
Summary:
If you're interested in beautiful women being subject to an endless amount of creative, agonizing tortures and bondage (as most of you are), you'll be hard-pressed to find anything better than this. However, it can't be recommended for the plot, which is poorly-paced and brought down by an abundance of increasingly-irrelevant subplots. (9/10)
Replied by: boccaccio2000g (Edit) (Dec 17, 2016)
Thank you very much for your perceptive review.
The Erika Weiss story line did rather hijack the original plot, but when one is writing and posting individual chapters every month or so, it's easy to fall into the trap of asking oneself, "How can I entertain my readers in this installment" rather than "How will my proposed installment contribute to the coherence of the plot?" I think that you would find that most of the other very long stories are equally episodic.
The version published here is actually a revision of a much shorter (50-odd chapters, as I recall) story originally published on other web site. The Erika character didn't even exist in the original.
If you'd like to see the original story with the original, more coherent story line and a denouement shoot me an e-mail and I'll be happy to share it with you. At this point, frankly, I don't think that my energy level will permit me to tie all the threads of the revised version together as I had originally planned.
In any event, thanks for the review. I didn't know that the function was still working -- which is part of the reason for my declining interest in recent years.

Reviewer: SamCurious (Edit) Rating: May 18, 2011
This has to be pretty much the best story involving BDSM on the internet. Gripping. Absolutely superb. (10/10)

Reviewer: takarada (Edit) Rating: May 24, 2007
Great story, well written and many nice scenes in it.
Could you include a character that likes being punished to provide variety? (10/10)

Reviewer: tieuthapnhutlang (Edit) Rating: Oct 14, 2006
hello , very well (9/10)

Reviewer: mkemse (Edit) Rating: Mar 15, 2006
great story but even epics need to end somewhere or the reader gets lost in what is going on, kinda like reading war and peace (9/10)

Reviewer: tinglee (Edit) Rating: Nov 12, 2004
I've only been a member for a few weeks so I am still working my way through this story I am amazed at the dedication to undertake such a long story. And in particular to maintain such a high quality of writing, and yes I do read it all.As winter is approaching it's a great way to spend an evening. So please keep it up and thanks for the story. (9/10)
Replied by: boccaccio2000g (Edit) (Nov 13, 2004)
Thanks, tinglee, and may the dark fires of the Jade Pavilion warm you for many winters to come!

Reviewer: chksng19 (Edit) Rating: Nov 11, 2004
When someone spends over 2 years of their lives writing a story, that individual is either a masochist, or a great writer.
Let's hear it for Great Writers!
This story captured me when I first discovered the library; the historical accuracy, formalized society, and interesting erotic adventures had me creaming my jeans.
Still does, too!
Well written, delightfully descriptive passages encourage your readers to slide through your story on sleds of wonder. Where can he go from here? Wow! Topped it again!
Are you appreciated? Yes. Is your story worth rereading? Yes indeed.
How to improve it? Hmm. Have you thought about contacting an erotic artist and illustrating it, then e-publishing?
(Damn, if only Bob Bishop were still alive: he would truly do it justice with his drawings of stark beauty. Idonno; Roberts, maybe? There's gotta be someone out there who would do it right.)
I look forward to new chapters regularly. Your work is of extreme high quality... and enjoyed as a story itself, not just for the 'wank' areas.
Thank you for hours of pleasurable reading. (10/10)
Replied by: boccaccio2000g (Edit) (Nov 13, 2004)
Thanks so much for the review, especially the phrase 'slide through your story on sleds of wonder' - what a striking and flattering metaphor! As for the artist notion, I did explore that briefly a couple of years ago (with another story, published under a different name) that I thought would lend itself better to such treatment. (It was much shorter, with less 'extraneous' background material than the Jade Pavilion). But got no response. Que sera, sera. I also would add that, while I find the work of many of the best-known BDSM artists to be amazingly skillful, stimulating, and dark thought-provoking, one likes to think that one's words provide sufficient fuel to kindle the reader's own imagination. Every reader of the Jade Pavilion probably has his or her own mental picture of Ming-tsu, Mai-Lee, Peony and Ci-ci, Mila, Princess Dena, Qieu, the Ceylonese sisters, Ju, Erika Weiss, the ill-starred Liu and the other heroines who have held this author's interest for such a long time. And that, I think, is as it should be.

Reviewer: triumvir (Edit) Rating: Apr 19, 2004
Being a keen fan of historically grounded erotic fiction, I've quickly become an addict of the Jade Pavilion series since I read the first chapter a short while ago. It says much for this story that I've caught up so quickly with the other 109 chapters a real page turner.
An awful lot of characters, each of them carefully developed, embedded in an exciting and intriguing plot that takes the reader into an exotic, bygone world where cruelty sits side by side with romance and tragedy. Not an easy thing not to lose track of all the different threads, but the author does an excellent job to keep the reader in line (even if he might get driven wayward now and then, especially when it comes to breast torture).
I don't share every special liking for the featured violence, but *as a reader* I just have to enjoy each chapter there aren't many stories at bdsmlibrary which are of such a literary quality. And speaking of literary quality the most recent chapters, though not of particularly heavy content for bdsm standards, attest to the versatility this author is capable of.
The Jade Pavilion would be an asset for every library, and it certainly is an outstanding piece of work here at bdsmlibrary. I'm very pleased that this is 'only' Book II, which means that there is a Book I, and, hopefully, a Book III
(10/10)
Replied by: boccaccio2000g (Edit) (Apr 19, 2004)
Thank you, triumvir, for the nice words. As for why I call it Book II -- it's because it seems like it's taken 2/3 of my life to write it! Actually, Book I is here on this site. A nice, nasty little story, (my first attempt at fiction) but JP II, its prequel, is by far my favorite child. There is a Book III as well, which may some day see the light of day -- if I ever finish this monster I call Book II.

Reviewer: 13.3.220 (Edit) Rating: Apr 16, 2004
Excellent Story I must say!! Though im still reading it and have a long way to go, it has that element of action that never seem to bore me.... U know that... (pain and pleasure thing) (10/10)
Replied by: boccaccio2000g (Edit) (Apr 16, 2004)
Thanks for the nice review, 13, -- if I may be so bold as to address you by your first number.
GB
Replied by: 13.3.220 (Edit) (Apr 17, 2004)
Anytime!!!
By the way my name is pretty easy to guess... "MCV" they call me... I just used numbers instead of letters.

Reviewer: teamster (Edit) Rating: Apr 10, 2004
Quite an epic. Obviously the author gave a good deal of thought to working out his plot. And there are many interesting details relating to turn-of-the century life in China. I have to admit I found myself skipping over some of the endless scenes of breast torture to find out how the story turns out. One suggestion... as masters of the art of acupuncture, I would think that your Chinese dungeonmasters would have devoted more attention to this technique. Still, a major effort, and very professionally presented. (10/10)
Replied by: boccaccio2000g (Edit) (Apr 11, 2004)
Hmmm. Judging from your comments on acupuncture, I'm still not sure whether you regard 'endless scenes of breast torture' as a good thing or a bad thing. ;-) In any event, all good things must come to ... etc etc.
Thanks for the review, and Keep on truckin!

Reviewer: Mobius (Edit) Rating: Feb 20, 2004
I am sorry to say that I have not read it. It is tooooooooo long. Not saying that is a bad thing just dont have enough paper. Geeese talk about having only set ratings. (10/10)
Replied by: boccaccio2000g (Edit) (Feb 21, 2004)
Well, Mobius, thanks for that rather ten-tative ten all the same!

Reviewer: ackalon (Edit) Rating: Jan 8, 2004
Really, I would enjoy this as a novel for the plot alone. By the 200th page though, I am beginning to find the sadistic abuse a little tiring and repetitive. Maybe i'm in the wrong place :) (8/10)
Replied by: boccaccio2000g (Edit) (Feb 21, 2004)
Well, thank you for your kind words about the plot, and for your thoughts. As for the sadism, am I under a misapprehension as to what the 'S' in BDSM library stands for? ;-) // Seriously, if you're referring principally to the lonngggg dungeon scene with Ming-tsu, I would agree that it went on far longer than I originally intended. Writing in installments, as many of us do here, it's easy to lose sight of the big picture. I think that each of the "dungeon" chapters has exciting moments, but you are probably right in saying that there are too many of those chapters -- particularly if a reader were to sit down and read a number of them at one sitting. On the other hand, some readers have commented that the scenes in the Black Pagoda were among the best of that sub-genre that they've ever encountered. You pays your money and you takes your choice, I guess. // The next installment will bring back Erika Weiss (remember her?) and, over the next several installments many of the characters (Li Chang, Luk Yee and his wife, General Wang and his entourage, Mai-Lee, and the lovely sisters, Peony and Ci-ci, to name a few) who have been waiting in the wings for far too long, will return to center stage. There will be some new faces, too, as we make our way toward what I trust will be an interesting conclusion that will wrap up the many threads in this long and complicated tale. I hope that you'll stay with us, and enjoy the next few chapters more than the last few.

Reviewer: Chum (Edit) Rating: Dec 26, 2003
I drop in on your story from time to time, and may be premature in commenting as I'm going to download the whole tail to date and read from the beginning. I've also read the other reviews, finding the exchange about'Thomas Hardy' style instructive regarding your intent. Until I read that my only criticism of your writing had been that the somewhat 'flowery' descriptions (i.e. lots of adjectives) was occasionally distracting.
Aside from this observation, your writing is outstanding. I'll come back after I read the story from the beginning. I comment now because, after recently posting a story I thought to be my best yet, I've had a total of one reader respond, and realized that I need to participate when I read something impressive. (9/10)
Replied by: boccaccio2000g (Edit) (Dec 26, 2003)
Thank you for the kind words; some folks do find the "flowery descriptions" rather dense at times. But others have told me that those descriptions put them "in the room" with the characters, to a degree rather unusual in this genre -- in the sense that they feel that they are 'watching' the action, rather than merely reading about it. Chacun a son gout, of course. A wine that is stimulating to one can be quite enervating to another. Personally, I would recommend taking my story in small sips, like a robust after-dinner brandy, rather than sloshing many chapters down at a time like a light beer. But in any event I hope you continue to find it entertaining.

Reviewer: Icarium (Edit) Rating: Dec 5, 2003
Awesome story! Thank you for your effort, Boccaccio. It's not that often to see an erotic story with interesting characters and style. (10/10)
Replied by: boccaccio2000g (Edit) (Dec 5, 2003)
Thanks for taking the time to express your appreciation, Icarium.

Reviewer: Fox (Edit) Rating: Oct 24, 2003
This is one of the top five tales on this site, without question. Boccaccio is to be congratulated. The plot is magnificently convoluted, the characters interesting, and the use of a Thomas Hardy writing style, while initially difficult for contemporary readers to handle, is well suited. I would love to hear Boccaccio read the story aloud, as he is a truly skillful story teller. (9/10)
Replied by: boccaccio2000g (Edit) (Oct 25, 2003)
Thanks, Fox, for the kind words. You're quite correct about my style which, partly by natural inclination and partly by design, seemed appropriate to a story set in a distant place in a distant time. Hmmm, I guess that last sentence illustrates my style better than I could ever hope to explain it. Too many writers nowadays sacrifice color on the altar of clarity. I think that with care -- and with the help of the discerning readers to whom I am very grateful -- one can have it both ways.

Reviewer: Sui Lerua (Edit) Rating: Aug 6, 2003
A tour-de-force from an intelligent pornographer. Constantly inventive in its pursuit of plot and torture for our hapless (and long-suffering) heroines. (9/10)
Replied by: boccaccio2000g (Edit) (Aug 7, 2003)
Thank you for the kind words.
oiccaccob

Reviewer: esclavadana (Edit) Rating: Jun 14, 2003
it caught me, couldn't stop reading, please, go on adding chapters (10/10)
Replied by: boccaccio2000g (Edit) (Jun 14, 2003)
Gracias, esclava.
There are still quite a few more chapters to come.
Enjoy!

Reviewer: curious2003 (Edit) Rating: May 22, 2003
Its a wonderful story. Has a plot and that plot can be followed, there are twists, a set of characters which are forceful and attractive and depicts a dark side of a world which even today is still shrouded by shadows such as the Orient is. Highly readable and enjoyable.
Ive sen that the author jokes about seventy five chapters are too many and then he says, luckily, that more are about to come. Well, thanks a lot.
Creative and well written fiction reading is not always easy fo be found and when yuou talk about bdsm stories, even less.
It is not a brutal list of pains and screams. It has flavour and imagination. And the imagination is hotly depicted in the mix of sadistic characters and adequate hints of romanticism, holws of agony and the tingling of the mind and flesh in more erotic and romentic settings Well, that is what I call sonmething which is a pleasure to be read.
Keep it coming !
(10/10)
Replied by: boccaccio2000g (Edit) (May 22, 2003)
Thanks very much for taking the time to write such a flattering critique. As you might imagine I get precious little thanks from the insatiable temptress, Ming-tsu, from the voluptuous, golden-haired Erika Weiss, the infinitely sensuous but arrogant Eurasian, Mai-Lee, and the dozen or so other long-suffering beauties of my saga. It's nice to know that someone -- other than the evil tyrants of the Black Pagoda and their brutal henchmen -- is enjoying their adventures -- and their ordeals. Grazie! <br>Boccaccio

Reviewer: smiley010 (Edit) Rating: May 12, 2003
A wonderful piece of work quite brilliant. More Please (9/10)
Replied by: boccaccio2000g (Edit) (May 12, 2003)
More? Seventy-five chapters aren't enough?
Size isn't everything you know! ;-)
Seriously, thank you for the review, and you'll be pleased to know that there are quite a few more chapters to come -- provided Jinn's bandwidth holds out.

Reviewer: kittenfemme (Edit) Rating: May 7, 2003
I found this story plot well designed and the characters are not so deep that I drowned nor so shallow that I scoffed. This is simply superb, especially for internet pulp! *purrrrrrrr* I do hope you will submit the finished work to several kinky publishers. Additionally, I respectfully demand more! Please? (10/10)
Replied by: boccaccio2000g (Edit) (May 8, 2003)
Thanks for reading the story, and thank you for the kind words. As far as demanding an Oliver Twistian "more" :-) I can only say that despite its already considerable length, Book II of the Jade Pavilion saga still has quite a long way to go.
Thanks again,
Boccaccio

Reviewer: WMassa (Edit) Rating: Jan 23, 2003
Came in touch with this story via its impressive reviews (what else are they good for?) and so far did not regret any minute I spent reading. Very rare a piece of story, by far too good to be too long... (10/10)
Replied by: boccaccio2000g (Edit) (Jan 23, 2003)
Many thanks for the kind words. <br> You will understand, I hope, that I'm having a little difficulty verbalizing the precise phrase: "Thank You, Massa." ;-) <br>I hope you continue to enjoy the rest of the story -- many more erotic adventures and torments await Ming-tsu, Erika Weiss, Mai-Lee, and the other seductive beauties of the Jade Pavilion.<br>The Brothers Chan and their evil minions, the Black Scorpions, will see to that.<br>Boccaccio

Reviewer: veru_skjava (Edit) Rating: Dec 28, 2002
Incredible story, I only recently began Pavilion book II, but am already hooked. There is nothing more I can say that other reviewers have not said, however instead of my usual wait to review practice, I had to review this now.
Thank you Boccaciog for this incredible story. I look forward to reading it to completion. (10/10)
Replied by: boccaccio2000g (Edit) (Dec 28, 2002)
Thank you, Veru. I'm delighted that you're enjoying it.
GB

Reviewer: Artemis (Edit) Rating: Dec 27, 2002
Boccaccio...Each new chapter of your story seems better than the last. I can barely tear myself away sometimes. ;) The quality of your writing is excellent as is the setting and story line. I don't think there's anything I can say that hasn't been said already in previous reviews. I look forward to the next updates though I especially enjoy chapters 29-34. (10/10)
Replied by: boccaccio2000g (Edit) (Dec 27, 2002)
Thank you, Artemis
Hopefully, the Muses -- the art-inspiring companions of your brother, Apollo -- will guide my hand as the story goes forward.

Reviewer: coprocop (Edit) Rating: Oct 3, 2002
Well, if you like it plain and simple - just forget about this review and start reading the story! You'll find an outstanding piece of work in regard to quantity AND quality, which is a combination you come rarely across even in the vast archive of the library.
Set in the 1880's of old Shanghai, Jade Pavilion II tells the story of Li Chang, a young man who sets out to infiltrate the Black Scorpions, the most powerful gangster organization in this time. He wants to destroy them for personal motives, and it's not sure whether he will succeed, but what is sure is that this is the frame for an epic tale of love and betrayal, sex and crime, violence and more violence...
Those of you who just skip through a story in search of the special "thrill-scenes" we all like won't have to search for long: there are plenty of those scenes, ranging from rather light to (very) strong. But even if you confine yourself on those episodes, you can hardly miss the author's talent for dealing with words and language, for creating the right (dark;-) mood and for describing his villains and victims such that it makes them more real than most of the protagonists you'll normally find in a story like that.
If you are the more literary type, you'll also enjoy the paragraphs in between those episodes which provide an apt backround for the action (no matter of course in this field) and give the main characters a certain depth, without depicting them too stereotyped. Even the hero himself has a sinister side beside his noble motives. That gives the story a rather unique complexity, and it is so well-written and nicely paced that you'll reach the 'highlights' soon enough;-).
So if you made it up to here, don't waste any more time and procede to the story - but don't forget to let the author know what you're thinking of it. Remember that it is FREE while it is worth to be paid for, so I guess the least the man can expect is some feedback. This was mine.
(10/10)
Replied by: boccaccio2000g (Edit) (Dec 27, 2002)
Thank you, Coprocop, for taking the time to write such a comprehensive and generous review. We authors need a few friendly words now and then, to keep slogging away. I will try to do justice to your kind words in the (many) remaining chapters

Reviewer: Faibhar (Edit) Rating: Sep 29, 2002
I can only mirror coprocop's review, however daunting THAT s/n might be, by saying that the author shares his abundant talent with those lucky enough to come across the very fine prose as shown in the Jade Pavillion series. (9/10)

Reviewer: kemosabe (Edit) Rating: Jun 16, 2002
A master story teller! His vivid screen descriptons make the reader a part of the story. Looking forward to much more from this very capable writer. (10/10)
Replied by: boccaccio2000g (Edit) (Jun 18, 2002)
Thank you, kemosabe. Masked man too kind to humble Indian storyteller. :-))
More adventures coming soon!
Boccaccio

Reviewer: Mokujin (Edit) Rating: Jun 3, 2002
Another Great chapter form the Jade Pavilion series. This story has everything! Can't wait for the next one! (10/10)
Replied by: boccaccio2000g (Edit) (Jun 3, 2002)
Many thanks! Glad you liked it -- there's much more to come.
Boccaccio

BDSM for All
Free sex stories

(This Month)

Sickest Sites...
RPP Stories...
The Writings of Levi...
Free Sex Stories Pos...
Free Strapon Movies...
Forced Info...
Bad Secretary...
BDSM Cafe...
House of Secret Stor...
Stray Thoughts Produ...

Bondage List
Catholic Guilt